Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/19/13, 8:59 am

while waiting for mediation and court answer about custody, can I go ahead and move my child and my family to another state as I am the residential custodian parent.

4 Answers


Answered on: 8/19/13, 9:06 am by Carolyn Jones

No. You can only relocate with the other parents permission or a court order.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carolyn R. Jones 3107 Spring Glen Road suite 203 Jacksonville, FL 32207

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/19/13, 9:15 am by John Smitten

no you cannot do that


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/19/13, 9:33 am by Brent Rose

Absolutely you may not without an order from the judge. And we don't use the term "residential" in Florida, and we especially don't use the term "custodial" parent in Florida. Those terms make one parent believe they have more control over the kids than the other parent, which is not true. I fear that you may suffer a bit from this misbelief.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/19/13, 10:56 am by Gregory Buckley

To relocate with the children more than 50 miles, you will need to comply with the provisions of Florida's Parental relocation Statute, Chapter 61.13001. You need either the permission of the other parent or an Order from the court.

If there is an ongoing case, it would not be a good idea to move before the case was complete, unless the court allows you to relocate temporarily.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law 2700 NW 43rd Street, Suite C Gainesville, FL 32606

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search