Florida | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
I just found out today that my 17 yr half sister is not enrolled in high school and has not been in school since Feb when she moved from her grandmothers house in AZ to her mothers house in Fl. Her mother has not enrolled her bc she has "other things to worry about". She tried to enroll herself but was told she needs her mother to come in and sign paperwork. Her mother refuses to go. At the time of the move my sister was 16, turning 17 in august. Her mother told her that "once you turn 16 you are responsible for your own education" which is why she tried to enroll herself but wasn't allowed to with out her mother. My sister refuses to get her GED saying she wants to finish high school and get a high school diploma. What can my sister do to get in school?


