Florida | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
Hi, I have a friend who wants to getan emancipation from her family. What is the quickest and easiest way to get it. Thank you so much for you help and knowledge.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
The easiest way is to get married or join the military.
Assuming that's not possible (she's not engaged or her parents won't allow her to marry and the military isn't accepting minors right now), she gets a self-supporting job, a place to live on her own, affidavits of permission from both her parents (whoops, there's the catch), and files a petition for emancipation with the clerk's office and sets it for hearing before the judge where she and her parents appear and explain why it's all good and why she's mature enough to handle it and live without parents, unlike practically all the other minors in Florida.
I don't mean to come off flip, but "divorcing your parents" is almost an impossibility in Florida, which is probably how it should be. At the very least, it is in no way "quick" nor "easy." |
Top Attorneys in FL
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Carmen Demapan Fernandez, Esq., P.A.
Hialeah, FL
Questions Answered: 270
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-23
Law Office of Kelly Papa
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 121
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-07
Law Offices of Susan Pniewski PA
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Stanley Halbert, P.A.
Casselberry, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-07-16
LAW OFFICES OF WENDY A. HAUSMANN
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-01
Ali Kirk, Attorney at Law
Redondo Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-20
Law Offices of E.F. Robinson
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


