Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

Paycheck Withheld

I work for a company that does collections for different hospitals. I was supposed to get paid August 30th. The company didn't pay its employees; they said that the hospitals that were supposed to pay them didn't release the checks on time. We will not get paid until Sept. 3rd.

I have already sent out a couple of checks for bills, and now they have overdrafted.

Can the company not pay its employees just because they didn't get paid? Is there anything that I can do about it? Can I hold them responsible for paying the overdraft fees?

Asked on 8/30/08, 4:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Paycheck Withheld

No -- you cannot hold them responsible for the overdraft fees. You should not write checks without money in the bank. That is improper.

Read more
9/02/08, 9:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now