Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

My ceilings are day after day caving in, and my landlord is not in a hurry to repair. I feel that my appartment is unhabitable and other units have the same issue. Can I sue my landlord and get financial compensation for future moving expenses and other. I know that I can send a 7 days notice of lease termination for non compliance florida statute 83.51. How am I protected as a tenant? Should I contact building inspectors?

Asked on 7/30/13, 4:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should contact the local building inspectors. Your written lease controls your remedies if the apartment is uninhabitable.

Read more
Answered on 7/31/13, 5:22 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now