Florida  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/31/12, 6:53 am

My Father drowned in a privately owned swimming pool. Could the homeowner be liable for compensation?

5 Answers


Answered on: 10/31/12, 6:57 am by Barry Stein

Yes potentially depending on the surrounding facts and the status of his heirs. Seek legal advice. There should be no charge to explore this with a competent attorney who handles wrongful death.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/31/12, 7:15 am by Jeffrey Garvin

Yes if there was negligence on the part of the homeowner.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Garvin Law Firm 7800 University Pointe Dr. Suite 100 Fort Myers, FL 33907

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/31/12, 8:22 am by J. P. Gonzalez-Sirgo

Yes is there was negligence on the part of the homeowner.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


J.P. Gonzalez-Sirgo, P.A. 804 S. Douglas Road Ste 373 Coral Gables, FL 33134

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/31/12, 11:15 am by David Slater

It will depend upon the facts surrounding how he drowned.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/31/12, 12:39 pm by Michael Tobin

Yes. There are circumstances where I have held the homeowner responsible. Only the facts of the drowning must be considered showing fault or negligence. Does the homeowner have a Homeownwers.insurance policy?

Was there negligence in discovery or rendering assistance? Defect in the design or maintenace of the pool? Excess chlorination? etc..


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Michael M. Tobin, P.A. 9400 South Dadeland Blvd. Penthouse 5 Miami, FL 33156

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search