Florida  |  Product Liability

question bubble
9/25/07, 4:33 pm

Legal Question


Property damaged during shipment

I had a package shipped from NY to Florida using DHL.This package contained a picture that my father-in-law painted, over 30 years ago.It was painted on glass and in a very old frame.By the time the package got here the contents were destroyed.The box was crushed and had been retaped.It can never be replaced considering my father-in-law has passed away.This was the last thing to remember him that belonged to my husband.

DHL claims that they are not responsible because there was no insurance.My daughter shipped it and she said nothing about insurance was mentioned or offered when she brought the package in.

Do I have any recourse to claim damage?How do I put a price on sentimental value?

I feel DHL was neglegent in the mishandling of this item and allowed it to be damaged.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search