Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

My mother-in law put a loan on a house she owns to pay for an addition on my wifes and mine home to live with us being her dad is disabled and needs our help. The idea was to rent out the home and pay for the loan with the rent money. With the real estate market taking such a big hit, we can't get enough rent money to pay for the loan which is draining her savings account in which she lives off of. The legal question is if she defaults on the loan will me and my wifes credit suffer because my wife is on the deed along with my mother in law for the rental home?

Asked on 7/13/11, 6:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not if she isn't on the note.

Read more
Answered on 7/13/11, 9:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now