Florida | Workers Comp
8/26/10, 10:52 am
Legal Question
who pays for the employees medical insurance while on workers comp?
who pays for the employees medical insurance while on workers comp?
|
Read More Answered By: Jane-Robin Wender |
In part it depends on who was paying the health insurance while you were working. However, ultimately if the insurance company paid for health insurance prior to the injury, the employer IS NOT obligated to continue to pay after the injury. However, the amount of money the employer contributed previously each week would be added to the calculation of your average weekly wage (the amount of money that your work comp benefits are based upon). |
|
Read More Answered By: David Alan Karas, Esq. |
If the employer stops making health insurance payments, then it is the employee's responsibility to make the payments. If you are terminated, you may be eligible for COBRA at your cost.
David Alan Karas, Esq. T. 561.573.5822 E. david@karaslaws.com |
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1808
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Delray Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-30
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 118
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 62
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-02
► I had an injury at my job and was out on FMLA for 12 weeks due to haveing surgery. I...
► I hurt myself lifting a server at work. I had a witness that seen me lift the server...
► Does a person have the right to sue a former employer because they hired men to do a...
► If an individual was driving to a bussiness meeting and he or she were driving a...
► I was injured while working in the hospital. i got stuck with a dirty needle. will...
► Is it legal for my employers insurance company to send a copy of my workers...
► If the claimant die before the compensation is settle what happens to the claim and...
More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press