Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Georgia

I have an ex-girlfriend who owes me a lot of money. Over the course of our relationship, i had given her alot of cash that i had withdrawn from ATM's. There was also some time's where i would transfer money directly into her Well's Fargo Account. The problem is we never drew up any official contracts because really i just took her word that she would pay me back. I don't have any witnesses that could testify that i gave her money, and she is denying all of it now. I would like to take her to small claims court to try get back what she owes to me. With just bank records to go off of showing the ATM Withdrawls and Wire Transfers to her Bank Account, would i still be able to re-acquire this money from her? Or should i just take it at a total loss?

Asked on 6/13/13, 12:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Absent any written dosuments, a court is going to be very skeptical of believing money given to an ex-girlfriend was not a gift, as anyone making a real loan would use real paperwork.

Read more
6/13/13, 12:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now