Legal Question in Personal Injury in Georgia

HIPAA Violation

I moved from GA to TN last year, and just recently requested my psychiatrist send my diagnosis and meds over to my PCP to be filled. I called the office staff in GA to advise them that the request was being sent, and stated exactly what I wanted to be sent. I faxed the information from the office I work in with fax cover, a note to them on the fax cover, and my release with all of the proper info for the release on who it was being released to, and all of their info. I came in late to work one morning, and laying on my desk was the fax from the dr to my boss--name removed--attention. Also, it didn't have a protected cover letter at all. In fact, on the cover was my diagnosis along with all of my meds listed nice and neat for everyone to see. The 2nd page was my release. Obviously they didnt' look at the release all, they simply looked at my cover letter. Now, after only being in this office for two weeks everybody knows that I have a mental illness. Violated doesn't even define what I feel. Do I have a case?

Asked on 7/02/08, 3:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Lipton David A. Lipton & Associates
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: HIPAA Violation

It sounds like you do have a cause of action for a HIPPA violation - However I would have to examine the documents furher. Please call my office. David Lipton

Read more
7/02/08, 4:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now