Illinois | Elder Law
Legal Question
My friend's mother-in-law refuses to give her son a power-of-attorney because she's afraid he will put her in a nursing home. She lives in another state and the main home help she's hired is unreliable and steals from her. She won't allow anyone else to come into the home except some VA workers she has because of her deceased husband's veteran status, but they only come once a week as well. She can't care for herself as far as basic hygiene and bodily functions, has a broken leg that she refuses to have surgery done on, and my friend and her husband are getting calls from the local office on aging with complaints that no one is taking care of her. She really needs to be in a care facility, but refuses. Since he can't talk her into it, should he try to have her declared incompetent or is there another way? He's her only child and she has no other relatives living anywhere near her.


