Illinois | Wills and Trusts
11/13/09, 10:20 pm
Legal Question
Can a daughter contest a POA over her father if her son holds the POA?
Can a daughter contest a POA over her father if her son holds the POA?
|
Read More Answered By: Steve Raminiak |
If her father has lost the capacity to manage his finances or his daily, personal needs, then she could petition to be her father's Guardian and to set aside the POA. However, her chances at winning on this depend on many different circumstances. Some of these include: how long has her father been incapacitated, the character of the incapacity, how long ago the POA was signed, what actions have been taken by the son that currently holds the POA.
If you'd like to discuss this, feel free to give me a call. I don't charge for introductory phone calls. |
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Turza |
It is unusual that your father gave the power to your son (his grandchild) instead of you. Maybe he had a reason. The court would have to consider that.
A great deal more needs to be know before advice can be given on how to proceed. For example, do you suspect elder financial abuse of your father by your son?
You may visit my website at: www.legacylaws.com. |
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2175
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 604
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 553
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
► I am the power of attorney for a relative who indicated that i be paid under the poa...
► Is power of attorney documents prepared in arizona legal in Illinois?
► I live in Illinois. My wife's grandmother just passed away and my wife was on all of...
► If someone dies and does not have a will who gets to get his belongings legally?
► If a relative has died and leaves a will that states "property left to existing...
► My mom passed away this year, four months after she passed my grandma died as well....
► My father died in 06, he left my son $100,000 in a trust fund with my sister as...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press