Legal Question in Employment Law in Indiana

I have a friend who recently applied for a job. The next morning she was called for an interview, but the person said the interview had to be that morning and 30 minutes from the time she was called. This made it impossible for her to be on time. Upon arrival, my friend was told the position had been filled, and the interviewer was on the phone scheduling another applicant for employment immediately. This seems discriminatory in some way. Is this illegal in any way?

Asked on 5/21/13, 9:31 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is only illegal if you believe she was discriminated against because of her gender, race, or other suspect class . The mere fact that someone is treated unfairly is not discrimination.

Read more
5/26/13, 7:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Indiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now