Legal Question in Business Law in Kansas

I have family member that owns a mechanic shop in a diff state for years he has been telling me he does mechanic liens all the time. So now he is mad at me and said he is going to put a mechanics lien on my truck even thou it has never been to his shop he also said he had the V.I.N number and that's all he needs.

Do I need to be worried? Seems far fetched to me but wouldn't be surprised. What do I need to do to protect my truck.

Asked on 10/03/13, 2:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If your family member did that, they would be committing fraud. That could subject them to both criminal and civil liability.

Good luck

Read more
10/03/13, 6:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Kansas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now