Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

Child support

A female aquaintance of my son has had a baby and says that it is his. I paid for a DNA test to be done today. If the results come back that he is the father, he is ready to step up and be a father and pay child support. What I was wondering is does he need a lawyer to make sure he is not taken to the cleaners in child support. The mom dosn't work, has another child from some other man and she seems content to live off welfare and the child support. Is it standard based on his pay or there other factors where a lawyer would be able to help him in is subject.

Thanks in advance,

Ben

Asked on 9/27/06, 9:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Child support

While the calculation of child support is theoretically a statutory issue, the interpretation of certain factors can be better presented if he has an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 9/28/06, 12:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now