Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

fine or jail

i was served a subena today to give testimony for my son-in-law (he and daughter are both trying for custody of the child. he is trying to prove my daughter unfit as a parent my question If i dont go to court will i be charged and fined or can i be jailed?

Asked on 9/06/06, 2:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: fine or jail

Ignoring a subpoena can cause you to be found in Contempt of Court. You can be fined or jailed.

Read more
Answered on 9/06/06, 3:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Adam LambertThe Law Office of Adam S. LambertNew Orleans, LA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now