Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

Divorce Papers

If my mother did not sign her divorce papers before her spouse died, is she divorced? My mother lives in Louisiana; I live in Texas.

Asked on 1/15/02, 11:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Divorce Papers

The question is not if your mother signed, but if a judge did. If a judge granted the divorce before he died, then she was divorced. If not, she is widowed.

Read more
Answered on 1/24/02, 9:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now