Maryland  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
9/26/03, 5:31 pm

Legal Question


Defamation of Character

Ok here is a long one. 5 Years ago I applied to a police department as a cadet. About a week before my background investigation I broke up with my girlfriend who was cheating on me with my best friend and when others didn't trust her she started telling them I hit her and mentally abused her. I thought she would tell the department this, but to my suprise the investigator told me that no one said anything bad. Now I am applying to a police dept and they pulled that record and she DID say a good amount of untrue statements that were never investagted and this has cost me a job. I still have 2 prospects what can I do to clear this? I have contacted the department that did the initial, but I want to know my options incase they won't admit improper investiagtion techniques. My current investigator even commented about lack of investigation.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search