Maryland | Administrative Law
Legal Question
Incorrect name of official documents but not birth certificate
Birth certificate has the correct last name, but do to the name being obliterated last name was penned in by my mother. all other documents are in a different last name.
What to do????
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Incorrect name of official documents but not birth certificate Need a bit more facts to determine any particular course of action. But, it sounds like the first thing to do would be to get a clean copy of the original birth certificate with no pen marks on it from the state that originally issued it.
Then, you're going to have to deal with each agency or group that has issued identification etc under the "wrong" name and find out the process to make the "correction". Then, if you want to "change" those references to your correct name, you're going to have to contact each entity and go through their internal processes to have your name "changed" to the real name.
Alternatively, you could legally change your name to the one that appears on all of your current documentation.
As a practical matter, if your entire life has been conducted under a name different from your birth certificate (i.e. school records, doctor records, credit records, driver's lic., social security card, employment records, etc.) it will actually be much easier to change your legal name to be consistent with all of your life records than it will be to change all of those documents to reflect a different name.
Obviously, that choice is yours.
FYI: One big question (and the one others will ask) is how did the "wrong" name get on all of the documentation?
You should contact an attorney to find out about the specific options given your facts. I would be happy to speak with you to evaluate the need for legal assistance. Please call at the numbers listed below.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Bar Adon Vogel PLLC
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
Search Questions and Answers


