Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/13/01, 8:00 pm

Legal Question


Effect of a payment offer on a suit

I have two debts that are VERY overdue. Both creditors want to sue me. I have registered with a credit counseling agency and they have proposed a payment plan which lasts app. 3.5 years to pay both creditors. One creditor has agreed to work with me, however the other says he will not accept anything less than full payment (which I don't have). He has been very abrasive and has been calling me at work. He says he will refuse any offers. Can he do that? It seems to me there is no reason he cannot still sue me, but can he reject my payment? Will making some sort of payment arrangements help my case? Also, he is from a collection agency - do I have any recourse to contact the original creditor with my payment offer? Can he speak exclusively for them or can the agency work directly with the original creditors?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search