Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Attorney Client Priviledge
If a man/woman is arrested for murder and is provided legal counsel or seeks advice and representation what is the law in accordance with attorney client priviledge when the following occurs:
The arrested relays to the attorney that he/she is guilty and murdered with malice and indifference, although, the arrested wants the attorney to enter a plea of NOT-GUILTY and represent the arrested with a ficticious story as to why the arrested in NOT-GUILTY.
Hence, the attorney is asked to provide representation and enter a plea of NOT-GUILTY to the arrested with knowledge of the TRUTH of the guilt of the arrested.
QUESTION:
1. Is the attorney required by law to report this information [to the police] that his client revealed an admission of GUILT and is asking for the attorney to mis-represent the truth of the case at hand?
2. Is the attorney required by ethical and moral policies of the BAR association to report the admission of guilt and either represent the arrested with a GUILTY plea or remove him/her self from the case?


