Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Divorce: Real Estate
When selling a home in Maryland that is in only one spouse's name, does the title company have an obligation to ensure that the money is split at closing?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carolyn Press |
Re: Divorce: Real Estate No. If the house is being sold because of a divorce judgment which requires a division of marital property, the party holding title (the seller) is obligated by the order of the court to pay the ordered sum to the other party. It would make good sense for both parties to be present at the closing with a request that two checks be cut based on the court-ordered division of the asset, but the title company is not directly subject to the court order. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3884
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


