Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
I am confused about how a lien works. I have read that few lawyers will take a case on which a lien has been filed, because it will mean working essentially for the lawyer who filed the lien but no longer has the case. But wouldn't the money toward the lien come directly from the client's recovery and not from the 2nd lawyer's profit? For example, if lawyer 2 is entitled to 30%, and lawyer 1 files a lien for 30%, wouldn't the client just receive a much lower percentage than if no lien had been filed? Would lawyer 2 receive any less money than if a lien had not been filed? Thank you!


