Re: Am I entitled to money from my insurance company?
As you can see by the other replies, this may be more complicated that you originally believed. Both of the other attorneys have indicated that your uninsured motorist coverage will most likely offer you some compensation. Both of the previous answers also point out to you that there may be other sources of insurance and assets (was the uninsured driver the owner of the car? did the uninsured driver have a homeonwer's policy? do you? does the uninsured driver have any assets? is there any chance that the uninsured driver was working at the time of the collision)?
These are facts that require investigation. Also, I note that your collision occured well over a year ago. I am curious to know what has been happening in the past year? Did your ins. co. repair your car? Were you or any of your passengers injured (and if so, what is the status of treatment and the prognosis)? Did you or any of your passengers lose time from work?
Send me an email or call me at the numbers listed below -- I'll be happy to chat for a few minutes -- and, whatever you do -- find a lawyer to negotiate with the adjuster under these circumstances -- they are trained to convince you that they are giving you as much as they can (when there's usually more to be had).
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400
Greenbelt, MD 20770
(301) 220-2200
fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.