Maryland  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
5/26/03, 10:20 am

Legal Question


hostile working environment

I recently quit my job. I worked directly for the CEO, who has now been there 17 months. During that time (although he is 47), he has been on a quest to rid the company (and me in particular) of older employees. He has put this kind of thing in writing (I have copies) and also made statements in company meetings. To that end, he repeatedly requested that I print out pornographic email (I refused each time and told him that I found that sort of thing offensive and out of place in a work environment). I reported this problem with two different office managers, but I am pretty sure nothing was said directly to him. They have both now left the company, and stated in their resignation letter that he was the cause. I stuck it out for 17 months, but in that time I had to ask my doctor for medication (Lexapro). It was adversely affecting my work, and toward the end I was having stomach problems and tension headaches. In my resignation letter, I mentioned both the ''older worker'' situation and the pornography issue. Is this worth pursuing? If so, could you recommend an attorney that will not leave me bankrupt? Thanks very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search