Re: grounds for sexual harassment suit
It sounds like you may have a case for both sexual harassment and constructive discharge if your environment was intolerable and that is why you resigned.
You can pursue the matter either with or without an attorney. If you choose to go it alone, you must contact the EEOC (their office is in Baltimore) or a local human rights agency (Montgomery County, PG County or Howard County human rights offices, for example - there is probably an office in your county) and file an administrative charge of discrimination. You must do this within 300 days of the discrimination or you lose the right to pursue the charge. For technical reasons, it is safest to file ASAP, but no later than 240 days after the discrimination occurred. There is no fee to file such a charge.
If you hire an attorney to help you, try to find one that will not charge you an arm and a leg. Attorneys work for a living like everyone else, so a reasonable retainer is to be expected, but most of the fee should be contingent if the case is appropriate for such an arrangement.
Please feel free to call for a free consultation if you would like some specific advice and to explore whether you need an attorney.
Good luck.
Jeff Sheldon
Jeffrey L. Sheldon, Esquire
The Sheldon Law Firm
6932 Mayfair Road
Laurel, MD 20707
301.604.2497
fax: 301.776.3954
jls@sheldonlawfirm.com
http://www.SheldonLawFirm.com
Disclaimer: This posting does not and is not intended to constitute legal advice. It is not confidential, nor is it privileged, and it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please consult with an attorney for advice specific to the facts of your case.