Maryland  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
9/22/02, 8:49 am

Legal Question


Job No Longer Available Due to Ending of an Affair with Boss?

I have had an affair with my boss for the past two years. He came in about a month ago and said he wanted to work on his marriage. That was fine with me because I had been trying to break it off for a year. He informed his wife of the affair and it has turned into a disaster. He has informed me that we can no longer work together. He has changed his demeanor with me and is now telling me that he cannot guarantee that we will go to the next project together. He has always told me that our group would remain together. I told him I loved my job and did not want to leave. I was also told that I shouldn't answer the phone in case it is his wife, and if it is her calling, I am not allowed to address her by name or say anything to her. I told him that I was a professional and I would continue to answer the phone as I have. After stating this, he told me that he would go to the big boss and tell him that our working relationship is not working out. Meanwhile, for the past three years, he has done nothing but promote and give praise relating to my abilities. What should I do? I feel that if he wants to leave, he should do so, but I shouldn't have to leave my position because of his personal life.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search