Massachusetts  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
3/25/08, 2:29 pm

Legal Question


ownership of family home

My sister and I each owned half of the family homestead. She asked me if we could give a third ownership to her boyfriend and I reluctantly agreed. I became heavily involved with drugs and was not not in my right mind, not thinking clearly, not keeping up with taxes and the bills. My brother-in-law took advantage of my muddled state of mind and paid me $13,000 for my third of what is a 250,000 home. He claims I wrote him notes asking him to buy and that he has kept the notes. We also were supposedly to have gone to his lawyer to sign the papers. I have little or no memory of the notes or the visit to the lawyer. I was too drugged to know what I was doing...

I know this might be a long-shot but is there any legal way at all I can fight to get my house back? I thought I would write and asked.

Many thanks--

Leo


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search