Massachusetts  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
5/02/08, 12:45 pm

Legal Question


Medical Blood Lab Malpractice

I have no idea if I have a case or not, but back in December, my PCP gave me a physical and full-blood work up. They told me I had tested positive for the Hep C antibody, and that I would need to get more blood drawn to see what my viral load was. Obviously, I was in a state of panic and confusion as to how I could've gotten it.

After the second blood tests were done (in January 2008), it was shown that I did NOT have any levels of Hep C in my body, nor had I ever been exposed to it (proven by a RIBA test).

My RIBA was negative, and viral load was zero. However, my doctor told me that it might still be in the early stages, and that I would need to do the same tests in three months to confirm.

I just recently had the tests done again, and again, the results showed that I NEVER had been exposed to Hep C.

This to me shows that the lab who processed my blood the first time either did the initial test incorrectly, or should've at least done the test twice before reporting the results.

Due to their incorrect initial report, I had to go get multiple other blood tests done, have other doctor's visits, and endure great anxiety.

Do I have any grounds for a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search