Will my record be cleared in the state of Michigan, at 18, if I have only 1 misdemeanor and am currently 17?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You have to file a petition in the court where you were convicted to set aside your conviction.You do not tell us when you were convicted, what the charge was, etc. Was it a juvenile adjudication or an adult conviction? Some offenses / crimes cannot be set aside. You have to file an application in the court where you were adjudicated (juvenile case) or convicted (adult case). There will have to be a court hearing. This is not an automatic thing. For an adult case, you have to wait at least 5 yrs after your conviction. For a juvenile case, you have to wait until at least 1 year after your disposition (sentencing) on the juvenile case or until you turn 18, whichever is later. You have to submit your fingerprints to the State Police so it can check for other cases.
Related Questions & Answers
My daughter received a dui in Iowa and now has a suspended license for 1 year in... Asked 8/12/13, 2:03 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
If a person dressed as a police officer confronts me in some way, by pulling me... Asked 8/12/13, 6:14 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
My case is a fleeing from an officer, which is a felony. My sentencing guidelines... Asked 8/10/13, 5:48 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
Im constantly insulted by my ex girlfriend and her friends am i able to make a... Asked 8/09/13, 12:03 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
I recently found out that I have a warrant in my name from Dec 2003. At that time I... Asked 8/07/13, 12:59 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law