Missouri  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 11:46 am

Legal Question


Can I sue an aesthetician for waxing my 13-year-old daughter's eyebrows and upper lip without requiring us to fill out paper work on current medications or a waiver of some kind about Retin-A use? My daughter has been using Retin-A for about one month and nobody informed us of not being able to have a waxing done while on this medication. I have a friend out of state who now tells me that the salon is supposed to ask each time and have you fill out paper work, as well as having it posted somewhere about the use of Retin-A before waxing. The whole area above and below each eyebrow, her upper lip, and two areas to the side of her mouth are completely raw, swollen, and red where the skin was completely torn off from the waxing. It was extremey painful for my daughter. There was not a parent with her as they took her in a different room to do and she has had it done before. They have never asked us questions about Retin-A or medication use prior to waxing. She is traumatized and definitely will not be able to go out of the house or to school. She has not missed one day of school and is a straight A student. I am totally furious at the negligence of the salon/aesthetician and I want to make sure this doesn't happen again. I have contacted our dermatologist who has suggested the use of Polyvisol and Aquaphor. I am praying it doesn't scar. Regardless, my daughter is absulutely scared to death.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search