Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
what is a levy......and what is an exemption from levy?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
Levy is basically a cost or expense or judgemtn debt being collected through the attachment (taking) and selling of the debtors' property or transferring of the funds to the party owed the debt. An exemption to a levy is property that the law says a debtor can protect from levy and execution. Some examples are 90% of wages for a person who is head of household (75% otherwise) or a retriement fund or a vehicle not being repossessed by the secured lender.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson & Gorny, PC
Jefferson City, MO
Questions Answered: 1384
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-09
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Jonathan D. McDowell
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Greene & Taylor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-31
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Tad K. Morlan, Attorney at Law
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


