Legal Question in Insurance Law in Missouri

i was in an auto accident in 2003 that was my fault but i was injured. i was the only car involved. my insurance company wanted me to sign a release and if i did so they would give me $1000 up front cash, and on january 14 2014, over 10 years later, give me a final payout of 5,000. i thought it was strange, but called them today and they have records and said it will be sent in january 2014. i asked them since i have had some unexpected bills come up, and since i have waited over 10 years if i can get my money now instead of wait the remaining 2 months. she acted like she didnt hear me, and hung up. can i get my money now?

Asked on 9/18/13, 11:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mel Franke Mel G. Franke, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not if you signed an agreement for those periodic payments.

Read more
Answered on 9/20/13, 12:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now