I am having a surgery and was told that the state law states I do have to be compensated for the time off until day 4. (If the Dr. says 5 days off I get paid for only 2?) Is that true? My situation is the Dr. said 2 days off and back to work with limitations. So I was told I would not be paid at all and would have to use my personal vacation time?
2 Answer from Attorneys
Hi. I am a Missouri workers' compensation attorney that handles claims on behalf of injured workers throughout all parts of the state. A few additional details would be needed to determine exactly which days you are entitled to be paid for. Missouri workers' compensation law provides that you are entitled to payment at 2/3 of your normal wage rate for days that are missed due to treatment for the injury that resulted from your work accident. However, you are not entitled to be paid for the first several days of missed work.
It is absolutely crucial that you are aware of the numerous rights that you have under the Missouri workers' compensation laws. In addition to payment for the days you miss from work, and payment for all the medical treatment due to the injury that happened at work, you are always entitled to a lump sum amount of compensation if your injury has resulted in any on-going disability, even if slight. The amount of compensation will depend on which part of your body was injured and how significant the injury is. For example, back injury cases, with mild to moderate injuries, are often settled in the $15,000-$30,000 range. Clients are often surprised at how much compensation they can obtain if they have an attorneys negotiate on their behalf and handle the claim for them. More detail is necessary, however, to determine what level of compensation could be available for your injury.
For your convenience, I can be reached via e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org, or by phone at (314) 471-5585. Our website is: http://www.harvathmissouriillinoislawyers.com. Thank you.
NOTE: This answer is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. The use of this site does not create an attorney-client relationship or privilege between the user and the attorney responding.
Related Questions & Answers
Should I continue to be paid weekly benefits after MMI is reached? Have not received... Asked 12/12/12, 7:48 am in United States Missouri Workers' Compensation Law
By law if terminated are u suppose to get paid hrs.worked right after termination? Asked 11/29/12, 2:40 pm in United States Missouri Workers' Compensation Law
I've been at my most recent employer for over 6 years. I've been injured there... Asked 11/02/12, 7:58 am in United States Missouri Workers' Compensation Law
I got hurt on the job and after being released from light duty to perform regular... Asked 9/27/12, 7:21 am in United States Missouri Workers' Compensation Law
Do I get paid by employer to go to therapy off the clock? Asked 9/18/12, 5:37 pm in United States Missouri Workers' Compensation Law