Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Nevada

I am named second on a friends will, The first named refused. The house is mortgaged and he owes about the same value of what it can sell for. There is nothing else of value. If I refuse , like first named did, to take on deceased debts, would I still be able to collect if my name is listed as beneficiary for an IRA or life insurance?

Asked on 2/26/13, 9:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Smith James E. Smith Ltd.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, life insurance and IRA are trust accounts where upon the death of the insured or owner the money is paid directly to the beneficiary who is named at the time of death.

Read more
2/26/13, 9:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Nevada

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now