New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Repayment of a 11 yr old dept. held by an attorney
How can I get an attorney to make a reason offer to satisfy an 11 yr old claim by his client.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Re: Repayment of a 11 yr old dept. held by an attorney I'm going to make a few assumptions in answering this question. I would think that the debt is a judgment. (If it is not, it would be barred after either one, two or six years depending on the statute of limitations.) That being the case, interest accrues on the judgment and if you have a job, assets and/or real estate, there may be very little reason to compromise on the amount of the judgment. Also, what you believe is a "reasonable" amount may be far different from what the creditor or his attorney believes is reasonable. In order to answer your question better, I would need to know more factual details about the situation. Keep in mind that these comments are based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, before you take any further action, you should contact an attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. I will be happy to assist you. However, you need to call me at 856-546-8010. If you mention LawGuru, there will be no charge for your first consultation. Good luck! Rob Gleaner |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3589
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2016
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Berkowitz & Raiken
Montville, NJ
Questions Answered: 406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-23
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Starr & Starr, PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


