New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/16/01, 10:47 pm

Legal Question


Unfair Competition

I wanted to give 60 day terms to a customer, instead of the usual 30 day terms. My credit manager is telling me that I can not do this, nor give any discounts as this would create an unfair advantage to the customer. What law dictates that I can not compete or match what all of our competitors are doing? They give whatever terms or discounts that are necessary to get the business. Is there a federal law that prevents such ''discrimination''? What kind of leeway do I have to offer a potential customer a competitive program? Can I reward a customer with terms if he is a great source of referrals to our company? Thanks for clarifying the confusion.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search