New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
employer's right to dispose of personal property
My place of employment has a policy that anything left in the lunchroom refrigerator on a Friday afternoon will be thrown out that evening. (Items are not disposed of Monday-Thursday evenings). The company claims this policy exists for health and cleanliness reasons. However, the disposal of the refrigerator's contents includes food items that are clearly labeled with expiration dates that have not yet passed, and the actual lunch bags (soft nylon,cooler,traditional lunch pail types). While I understand the rationale for the disposal of food items that do not have expiration dates specified, I question the fairness/legality of throwing away food items that are clearly labeled with expriation dates yet to come. I further question the fairness/legality of throwing away the lunch containers, which pose neither a health risk nor a problem with unsightliness.


