New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Liability for minor automobile mishap
While waiting in line (my car was stopped) I accidently ''tapped'' the car in front. The driver asked me to pull over so he could examine his car. I did and he noticed that some paint from my license plate were on his bumper. There was no dent. He now wants $300 from me which is way overkill. I believe it could be removed with some car polish. What recourse do I have. I believe he is being unreasonable. If he won't allow me to remove it should I suggest he bring me to small claims court? It was so minor but it was my fault. Does that give him the right to hose me?


