New Jersey | Employment Law
Legal Question
Former Employer Continues to Malign My Character - Can't Find Work
On January 21st of this year, I had asserted a workplace safety concern in writing to my boss. The following day I was fired. I have a letter from the Human Resources Manager citing “insubordination” as the reason for my termination. I was initially denied the first six weeks of unemployment compensation due to the “nature” of my separation from the company. After a lengthy investigation, the decision of the Appeals Tribunal of the NJ Dept. of Labor is as follows: “No disqualification arises under N.J.S.A. 43-21-5(b) as the claimant was not discharged for misconduct connected with the work. This decision will have an impact on the employer’s liability for benefit charges against its experience rating account. The determination of the Deputy is reversed.”
My former manager continues to tell any prospective new employers who check my professional background that I was “fired for insubordination”. He is denying me the right to earn a living. My question is, aside from being morally reprehensible; isn’t he breaking the law and what can I do about it?
Thank you.


