Legal Question in Employment Law in New Jersey

On October 1, I sustained an injury at work which I later found out, several doctors and unnecessary scans later, was a hernia. I was told that I wasn't able to have surgery until November 27. I have received one Workman's compensation check for the month of October. The doctors note specifies that I could only be on light duty until I recover from the procedure. However, I have been out of work because of the pain and need for medication. However, now my employer is asking me to come back into work for the week before I go into surgery. Do I legally have to return to work before the surgery? Can I sue my employer for not respecting my near inability to work?

Asked on 11/18/13, 12:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Why are you handling this without an attorney? I suggest you get one asap to deal with this. Call me anytime at 732/773/2768

Read more
Answered on 11/18/13, 12:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now