New Jersey  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
10/09/07, 2:00 pm

Legal Question


passing a school bus in new jersey

While stopped at a red light, a school bus turned onto the road traveling in the opposite direction and partially passed my vehicle. The stop sign was in my blind spot. When the light changed I proceeded through the intersection and was pulled over.

New Jersey law is title 39:4-128.1 and the paragraph that could apply to me is as follows:

On highways having roadways not divided by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle approaching or overtaking a bus, which is being used solely for the transportation of children to or from school or a summer day camp or any school connected activity and which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any child, shall stop such vehicle not less than 25 feet from such school bus and keep such vehicle stationary until such child has entered said bus or has alighted and reached the side of such highway and until a flashing red light is no longer exhibited

While researching the specific code 39:4-128.1 I have had difficulty applying it to this situation.

Does a municipal judge have to follow the letter of the law..

I was niether approaching nor overtaking a bus and was inside the ''87ft'' exclusion area


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search