New Jersey | Traffic Law
Legal Question
yellow or red?
I got a ticket under 39:8-41 for ''failure to observe ticket''. I was crossing into an intersection to turn left when the light turned yellow. The officer claimed I went through a red light. He was also so abrasive I felt he wanted to get me mad in order to arrest me or something.
I've been to court twice (officer didn't show up), and have a final court date to see if the officer will show up. Otherwise, the case will be dismissed.
I'm afraid the officer will show up and it'll be his word against mine.
I have not hired an attorney even though everybody seems to say I should - can someone please explain why it would be necessary and since when could you not defend yourself in court for a simple traffic ticket?


