New Jersey  |  Traffic Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/26/12, 1:16 pm

First time to get a speeding ticket. What do i do? The cop wrote 52 on a 40.

help please

5 Answers


Answered on: 11/26/12, 1:21 pm by Marc Greenberg

This is a 2 point ticket with about $130 in total fines and court costs. If you do not want to dispute it then go to the Municipal court and pay the ticket. If you want to dispute it and potentially attempt a no-point ticket you can hire an attorney or fight it yourself.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of David Watkins 285 Closter Dock Rd Closter, NJ 07640

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/26/12, 1:21 pm by Larry Raiken

there are several options: first you can plea bargain to reduce the speed and reduce the points;if you have a clean record you can ask for a zero point ticke and pay a higher fine. My suggestion is that you call me and I will advise you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Larry S Raiken LLC 170 Changebridge Road Montville, NJ 07045

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/26/12, 3:04 pm by David Polsky

HI

This ticket carries two points- YOu can pay this ticket on line, and avoid the Court date, but by doing so you will have 2 points charged to your record (both for DMV and Insurance purposes)

IF you wish to avoid the points, this can be reduced to a 0 point ticket, but it carries a higher fine (about $425).

IF you chose to go for a 0 point option, our Law Firm handles this type of matter for a reasonable flat fee.

Please feel free to call me to discuss this further at 973 686-9787

Thanks


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of David W. Polsky 264 Union Blvd Totowa, NJ 07512

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/26/12, 4:55 pm by Gary Moore

Call me.

Gary Moore


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/27/12, 5:43 am by Jonathan Mincis

You already know that it carries 2 points because it is only 12 miles over, I would contact the Court and say you want to plead not guilty. Go to Court and speak to the Municipal Prosecutor and see what he or she is willing to do. If you cannot work it out where they agree to reduce it to zero points then call a lawyer. again you can attempt to initially defend yourself or contact an attorney either way, I would not just pay it unless you can deal with the 2 points, please feel free to call if you want, (201)-342-5030


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jonathan J. Mincis, Esq. Law Offices 131 Main Street, Suite 270 Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search