First time to get a speeding ticket. What do i do? The cop wrote 52 on a 40.
5 Answers from Attorneys
This is a 2 point ticket with about $130 in total fines and court costs. If you do not want to dispute it then go to the Municipal court and pay the ticket. If you want to dispute it and potentially attempt a no-point ticket you can hire an attorney or fight it yourself.
there are several options: first you can plea bargain to reduce the speed and reduce the points;if you have a clean record you can ask for a zero point ticke and pay a higher fine. My suggestion is that you call me and I will advise you.
This ticket carries two points- YOu can pay this ticket on line, and avoid the Court date, but by doing so you will have 2 points charged to your record (both for DMV and Insurance purposes)
IF you wish to avoid the points, this can be reduced to a 0 point ticket, but it carries a higher fine (about $425).
IF you chose to go for a 0 point option, our Law Firm handles this type of matter for a reasonable flat fee.
Please feel free to call me to discuss this further at 973 686-9787
You already know that it carries 2 points because it is only 12 miles over, I would contact the Court and say you want to plead not guilty. Go to Court and speak to the Municipal Prosecutor and see what he or she is willing to do. If you cannot work it out where they agree to reduce it to zero points then call a lawyer. again you can attempt to initially defend yourself or contact an attorney either way, I would not just pay it unless you can deal with the 2 points, please feel free to call if you want, (201)-342-5030
Related Questions & Answers
If the DMV tells me I can drive, but my license is suspended, am I responsible? Asked 11/24/12, 3:26 pm in United States New Jersey Traffic Law
I was stopped for speeding and now I have a court date because I had three people in... Asked 11/23/12, 7:23 pm in United States New Jersey Traffic Law
Can New Jersey municple police pull u over in a neighboring town? Asked 11/08/12, 2:28 pm in United States New Jersey Traffic Law
I just got pulled over in NEW jersey, and i dont have insurance... however i told... Asked 10/25/12, 2:49 pm in United States New Jersey Traffic Law
I was driving a straight truck on route 495 in Hudson County West out of the lincoln... Asked 10/25/12, 11:25 am in United States New Jersey Traffic Law