Legal Question in Family Law in New York

My estranged husband reneged on our verbal custody agreement and has filed for divorce in a different state. As part of the divorce I am not allowed to take my children out of the county he lives in. Should I stay in New York (where I have a great job and a nice house)and fight for custody; or would it be more beneficial to move back to Georgia (where I would have no job and no place to live) and fight for custody there?

Asked on 7/15/13, 5:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jordan Trager Wisselman, Harounian & Associates, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Have you and the child lived in New York for at least the last 6 months?

Read more
Answered on 7/15/13, 6:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now