Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

My soon to be ex-husband are on the title of the house. The mortgage is in his name. If i get the house in the divorce, how can i take over the mortgage? I can make the monthly mortgage payments but will not be able to get a loan in my name in that big amount. What can i do to keep the house?

Asked on 10/06/13, 1:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should have an attorney. Contact the bank that holds the mortgage to find out if they will accept you.

Read more
10/06/13, 2:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now