Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in North Carolina

Don't know if father had will

My half-sisters dad died recently. She thought he had a will drawn up, because he mentioned changing it. She can't find it and has no idea what attorney he might have used. She didn't have any success when she questioned the local attorneys. My question is when an attorney draws up a will for someone are they required to file a copy of it with an government agencies, etc. If so can my sister do a search of the records to hopefully locate the will or at least the attorny's name?

Thanks,

Emily

Asked on 11/15/05, 11:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Brady Brady, Nordgren, Klym & Morton, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Don't know if father had will

There is no requirement that a will be "filed" publicly at the time of execution.

Read more
11/16/05, 9:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now