Legal Question in Consumer Law in North Carolina

I purchased a truck in VA and then returned to NC where I live. On the way home my check engine light came on. I took it to my local ford dealership to find out what was causing the light to come on. They told me that the truck is missing its catalytic converter and egr valve which is causing it to throw the code because of emissions. Because of this problem the truck will not pass the state inspection. I called the dealer that I purchased the truck from but they say that they are not responsible because they got the truck inspected in VA. The dealer here says that the truck would not pass anywhere. I am just wondering if there is any recourse that I have because my local Ford dealer says that it is illegal to sell a vehicle that won't pass inspection.

Asked on 9/28/13, 8:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You need to speak to an attorney versed in Virginia Law. Since you bought it there, VA law will apply. But most likely, the seller has a problem on his hands.

Read more
9/29/13, 4:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88323 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now