Legal Question in Family Law in North Carolina

If I am planning on up and moving with my three year son away from his father can the father of my son charge me with kidnapping? I went through mild abuse and never filed charges against the father which I have lived with now for almost five years . The physical abuse has stopped but the name calling and yelling still go on. I want to move and really am not financially fit right now to fight him in a court but I do not think it would go that far. He has never been violent with our son but has a long line of violence in New Hampshire. I just want to know can i leave and take my son with me without charges being filed?

Asked on 6/25/13, 5:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amanda Houser The Houser Law Firm, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You won't be committing any crimes but if you plan on keeping the child away from the father you could be giving him just the ammunition he needs to get custody of the child away from you.

Read more
6/26/13, 12:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now